Skip to main content

Four Seasons Pet Policy: Which Hotels Charge No Pet Fee (2026)

Four Seasons has no single pet policy. Each hotel decides whether it accepts pets, how big they can be and what they cost. The good news is that most Four Seasons hotels in North America that publish a pet page charge no pet fee at all. The catch is size: many cap pets at 25…

Four Seasons Pet Policy

Four Seasons has no single pet policy. Each hotel decides whether it accepts pets, how big they can be and what they cost. The good news is that most Four Seasons hotels in North America that publish a pet page charge no pet fee at all. The catch is size: many cap pets at 25 pounds, a few allow 30 or 60 pounds, and only a handful, such as San Francisco, Washington DC and Whistler, accept dogs of any size. Some hotels charge a cleaning fee only if your pet makes a mess, and one sets that fee at a minimum of USD 500.

This guide is built from the pet-friendly stays pages that individual Four Seasons hotels publish on fourseasons.com, read in October 2026. We checked the pages for more than 40 Four Seasons hotels in the US and Canada. Fourteen had a dedicated pet page with a policy. Many others, including some big city hotels, had no pet page at all, which usually means you need to call. Policies change, so confirm with your hotel before you book.

Four Seasons pet policies we checked

Four Seasons hotelPets and sizeFee
Philadelphia1 dog up to 25 lb, no catsNone
Las VegasUp to 2 dogs or cats, 25 lb eachNone
New OrleansUp to 2 cats or dogs, under 25 lb eachNot stated on page
Westlake Village1 dog or cat under 25 lbNone, but USD 500 minimum deep clean for accidents
TorontoDogs and cats, 25 lbNone
Beverly WilshireCat or dog under 30 lbNot stated on page
Los Angeles at Beverly HillsUp to 2 pets, 60 lb each, 6 months or olderNone
San FranciscoUp to 2 pets, no weight limitNone
Washington DC1 pet, any size or breedNone
WhistlerUp to 2 cats or dogs, any size or breedNone

Most Four Seasons pet pages say no pet fee

Among the Four Seasons hotels that publish a pet policy, no pet fee is the norm. Four Seasons Philadelphia says there is no additional charge for one dog up to 25 pounds. Four Seasons Las Vegas accommodates up to two domestic pets per party for no extra charge. Atlanta, Toronto, Denver, Washington DC, Whistler, San Francisco and Los Angeles at Beverly Hills all say the same. That is unusual. Most luxury hotels charge a one-off cleaning fee, often USD 100 to USD 200, and many mid-range chains charge by the night.

No fee does not mean no charges. Most of these pages add that excessive cleaning or damage can be billed, and Whistler says it can charge for repairs and lost room revenue until the room can be used again.

Size limits are the real restriction

The 25 pound limit is common: Philadelphia, Las Vegas, New Orleans, Westlake Village, Toronto and Four Seasons New York Downtown all use it. Beverly Wilshire in Beverly Hills allows pets under 30 pounds. Four Seasons Los Angeles at Beverly Hills allows up to two pets of 60 pounds each, as long as they are house-trained and at least six months old.

A few hotels drop the limit entirely. Four Seasons San Francisco allows up to two pets per room with no weight limit and no size or breed restrictions, in all rooms and suites. Four Seasons Washington DC in Georgetown welcomes pets of all sizes and breeds, one per room. Four Seasons Whistler welcomes well-behaved dogs of any size or breed, up to two cats or dogs per room. If you travel with a large dog, these three are the easiest Four Seasons stays in North America.

The cleaning fee to watch for

Four Seasons Westlake Village welcomes a single dog or cat under 25 pounds and charges no pet fee. But its page says that if a pet or service animal urinates or defecates in the room, a deep cleaning fee of at least USD 500 will be charged. Denver also says a cleaning fee may apply after your stay if deep cleaning or repairs are needed. For a young dog, or a dog that marks in new places, pack puppy pads and enzyme cleaner and do not leave the dog loose in the room.

Dogs only or cats too?

Most Four Seasons pet pages welcome both dogs and cats. Philadelphia is the exception in our sample: dogs only, and cats and other animals cannot be accommodated. Austin goes the other way, saying its policy allows cats, dogs and other domestic animals. If you travel with a cat, bring your own litter box and litter, since none of the Four Seasons pet pages we read promised one.

Atlanta, Austin and Denver

Three more US hotels publish pet pages with useful detail. Four Seasons Atlanta in Midtown welcomes dogs and cats for no pet fee, as long as they are fully house-trained, vaccinated, at least six months old and kept on a leash or in a carrier outside the room. Its page refers to a weight restriction, from which service animals are exempt, but does not state the number, so ask when you book. Four Seasons Austin says its policy allows cats, dogs and other domestic animals, and points to its nearly three acres of lawns sloping down to Lady Bird Lake and the 10 mile Hike and Bike Trail next door. The Four Seasons press office has described Austin's limit as 60 pounds. Four Seasons Denver charges no upfront pet fee, sets up a pet bed sized for your dog before you arrive, and asks that pets not be left unattended in suites.

Four Seasons in Canada

Canada's Four Seasons hotels are among the most pet friendly in the group. Four Seasons Toronto in Yorkville welcomes dogs and cats up to 25 pounds with no pet fee, and offers pet beds, bowls, house-made treats and an in-room dog menu, with a 24 hour concierge that can arrange pet sitting. Four Seasons Whistler accepts up to two cats or dogs per room, of any size or breed, and says nearly all of its rooms and suites are pet friendly, depending on the pet's size and needs. With trails on the doorstep, it is one of the best mountain stays in North America for a big dog. If you are driving or flying into Canada with a pet, check the entry rules first; our guide to pet transport to Canada covers them.

Hotels with no pet page

Many Four Seasons hotels do not publish a pet page. In our check, the pet page address for Chicago, New York, Boston, Miami, Orlando, Nashville, Scottsdale, Houston, Seattle, Vail, Maui and others simply sent us to the general services page. That does not mean they refuse pets. Several are known to accept small dogs. But it does mean the rules are not online, so call the hotel and get the weight limit and any fee in writing before you book. Hotels outside North America vary even more: the Four Seasons press office says Four Seasons London at Park Lane accepts pets up to 8 kilograms with a GBP 150 cleaning fee per dog that may apply.

What a pet stay includes

The upside of Four Seasons is the welcome. Pet pages describe beds, food and water bowls, treats and chew toys in the room, and several hotels go further:

  • Philadelphia has a Canine Concierge who arranges dog walking, sitting and grooming.
  • Denver sets up a plush pet bed before arrival, in sizes from small pups to large breeds.
  • Toronto has an in-room dog menu, and Beverly Wilshire has its own pet menu.
  • San Francisco offers bowls, a pet bed and a chew toy on request.
  • New York Downtown arranges dog walking and sitting.

Rules you can expect

Across the Four Seasons pet pages, the house rules are consistent:

  • Pets should not be left alone in the room.
  • Dogs must be leashed in public areas, or carried in a carrier.
  • Pets must be house-trained and vaccinated, and Atlanta and Los Angeles ask that they be at least six months old.
  • Pets stay out of restaurants, the spa and pool areas.
  • Disturbing other guests can mean the pet has to leave.

The no-unattended rule matters more at a luxury hotel than you might think. If you plan a long dinner or a spa afternoon, book the hotel's dog sitting or walking service rather than leaving your dog in the room.

Getting a small dog to a Four Seasons

Many Four Seasons trips start with a flight, and the common 25 pound limit lines up neatly with what airlines allow in the cabin. Most US airlines let a small dog or cat fly under the seat in a carrier if pet and carrier fit the space, which in practice means a pet of up to about 15 to 20 pounds. A dog that fits under an airline seat will almost always fit a Four Seasons size limit too. Larger dogs usually mean a road trip or a pet transport service instead. Our guide to flying with a dog in the cabin covers the airline side.

Service animals

Four Seasons pages say service animals are always welcome. Denver adds that service animals face no fees, weight limits or breed restrictions, and Atlanta and Westlake Village note that service animals are exempt from the weight limit. Under the ADA service animal rules, US hotels cannot charge a pet fee for a trained service dog. Emotional support animals do not have that protection, so they are treated as pets. Our service dog hotel rights guide explains more.

How Four Seasons compares with other luxury chains

For a small dog, Four Seasons is often the cheapest luxury option because so many of its hotels charge nothing. Omni hotels usually charge a USD 125 to USD 175 cleaning fee and cap most city hotels at 25 pounds. Fairmont hotels often accept dogs of any size but usually charge a fee, either once or by the night. Hyatt hotels commonly charge about USD 100 per stay. For a big dog, a Fairmont or one of the no-limit Four Seasons hotels is the better bet.

How to book a Four Seasons stay with a pet

  1. Search for your hotel's pet-friendly stays page on fourseasons.com.
  2. Read the weight limit, number of pets and whether cats are accepted.
  3. Check for any cleaning fee or accident fee.
  4. If there is no pet page, call the hotel and ask for the policy in writing.
  5. Tell the hotel your pet's name, size and needs so the right bed and bowls are ready.
  6. Book dog walking or sitting in advance if you will be out for long.

Our guide on how to find pet-friendly hotels covers these checks across other brands, and our list of hotels with no pet fee includes cheaper chains that also charge nothing.

A sample trip

Say you are spending a long weekend in California with a 45 pound spaniel. Four Seasons Westlake Village and Beverly Wilshire are out, since the dog is over their limits. Four Seasons Los Angeles at Beverly Hills accepts pets up to 60 pounds at no extra fee, as long as the dog is house-trained and at least six months old. Drive north and Four Seasons San Francisco takes the same dog with no weight limit, also at no fee. Two hotels in the same brand, in the same state, can give opposite answers for the same dog.

Questions to ask the hotel

  • Is there a weight limit, and does it apply per pet?
  • Is there any pet fee, or a cleaning fee for accidents?
  • Are pets allowed in all room types, or only some?
  • Do you accept cats, and do you supply a bed and bowls?
  • Can you arrange dog walking or sitting, and what does it cost?

Common mistakes

  • Assuming every Four Seasons accepts pets because the brand is known for it.
  • Missing the 25 pound limit at many city hotels.
  • Forgetting the accident fee at Westlake Village.
  • Leaving a dog alone in the room during dinner.
  • Bringing a cat to a dogs only hotel such as Philadelphia.

Before you book

Four Seasons is one of the best luxury brands for a small, well-behaved pet, and often free. Check the hotel's own pet page, or call, because there is no promise that the next Four Seasons follows the same rules.

Frequently asked questions

Does Four Seasons allow pets?
Many Four Seasons hotels allow pets, but each hotel sets its own policy. Fourteen of the US and Canadian hotels we checked publish a pet page; others require you to call.
Does Four Seasons charge a pet fee?
Most Four Seasons hotels with a pet page, including Philadelphia, Las Vegas, Atlanta, Toronto, Denver, Washington DC, San Francisco and Whistler, say there is no pet fee. Damage or deep cleaning can still be charged.
What is the Four Seasons weight limit for dogs?
It varies. Many hotels allow pets up to 25 pounds, Beverly Wilshire allows 30 pounds, Los Angeles at Beverly Hills allows 60 pounds, and San Francisco, Washington DC and Whistler have no size limit.
Can I leave my dog alone at a Four Seasons?
Four Seasons pet pages say pets should not be left unattended in the room. Several hotels can arrange dog walking or sitting while you are out.
Does Four Seasons accept cats?
Most Four Seasons pet pages welcome dogs and cats. Four Seasons Philadelphia accepts dogs only.