KOA campgrounds welcome pets, but KOA does not have one fixed pet policy for its more than 400 US and Canadian campgrounds. The national rules are short: dogs must be on a leash no longer than 6 feet outside your RV, tent or cabin, a tethered dog must never be left alone, aggressive dogs of any breed will be asked to leave with their owners, and constant barking can get you asked to leave too. Everything else is set by each campground, including pet fees, whether pets can stay in cabins, how many pets you can bring and whether some breeds are banned. Pets on RV and tent sites are often free, while cabins usually carry a fee of USD 10 to USD 50 per pet.
This guide is built from KOA's own pages, read in October 2026: the national KOA pet policy FAQ, the KOA service animal FAQ, and the general information pages of 48 KOA campgrounds, which we sampled from KOA's list of every location. Campground rules change from season to season, so always check the page for the KOA you are booking.
What we found across 48 KOA campgrounds
The table shows the pet rules on a selection of the campground pages we read, to show how much they differ.
| Campground | Pets on RV or tent sites | Pets in cabins | Other rules |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cape Charles / Chesapeake Bay KOA, VA | No fee, no limit on number | USD 50 per pet, max 2 per unit | Rabies certificate and signed pet agreement |
| Outer Banks West KOA, NC | Max 4 pets per RV reservation | USD 50 per pet, max 2 per rental | Rabies certificate and signed pet agreement |
| Naples KOA Holiday, ME | USD 5 per pet per night | USD 25 per pet per night | Proof of current vaccinations; crate if left in a cabin |
| Louisville South KOA, KY | Not stated | USD 10 per pet per stay (camping cabin), USD 25 (deluxe cabin) | No pets in buildings or pool area |
| Springfield Route 66 KOA, IL | Not stated | USD 10 per stay (camping cabin), USD 25 (deluxe cabin) | Pets allowed in all cabins |
| Butte KOA, MT | Not stated | USD 25 per night | Off-leash dog park on site |
| Canton KOA | Allowed | Allowed | No pit bulls, pit bull mixes, Rottweilers or Dobermans |
| West Glacier KOA, MT | Allowed | Not stated | Follows the KOA national pet policy |
Across the 48 pages, five had no pet section at all, seven mentioned an on-site dog park, four mentioned breed rules, and three said you must show proof of rabies vaccination. The pattern is clear: the national rules are a floor, and each owner adds to them.
The KOA national pet policy, rule by rule
KOA's national FAQ breaks its guidelines into two parts. Before you go, it tells you to call ahead and check the campground's own pet policy, because some campgrounds do not allow pets in cabins, some have a limited number of pet-friendly units, and some do not accept breeds that insurance providers have identified as having a history of aggression. When you arrive, it sets four rules:
- Good behavior is required. Hostile or aggressive dogs of any breed will be asked to leave the campground, along with their owners.
- Use a leash. Dogs must be on a leash no longer than 6 feet whenever they are outside your vehicle or rental unit.
- Never leave a tethered dog alone. A dog tied out at your site must have someone with it.
- Remember manners. Constant barking bothers other campers, and if your pet is too noisy you may be asked to leave.
Campgrounds that have no rules of their own, such as West Glacier KOA, simply quote this policy on their information page.
Does KOA charge a pet fee?
It depends on the campground and on where you stay. On RV and tent sites, pets are often free: Cape Charles states there is no pet fee and no limit on the number of pets on an RV site. Others charge a small nightly fee, such as USD 5 per pet per night at Naples KOA Holiday in Maine. Cabins are where fees really appear, because they need extra cleaning after a pet. The cabin fees we found ranged from a one-time USD 10 for a basic camping cabin at Louisville South and Springfield Route 66 to USD 25 per pet per night at Naples and Butte and USD 50 per pet at the two resort-style campgrounds in Virginia and North Carolina.
A rough rule from our sample: the bigger and more resort-like the KOA, the more likely it is to charge per pet and require paperwork.
Can dogs stay in KOA cabins?
Often, but not always. KOA's own FAQ warns that some campgrounds do not allow pets in cabins at all, and others only have a few pet-friendly cabins. Where pets are allowed, many campgrounds cap them at two per cabin, charge a cleaning fee, and say a pet must not be left alone in the cabin unless it is crated. Naples KOA Holiday is a good example: pets left alone in a cabin must be in a crate, and pets may not be left alone outside a crate at all. Book a cabin that is clearly marked as pet-friendly, because those are limited and sell out first on summer weekends.
Breed restrictions at KOA
KOA does not ban any breed at the national level. Its FAQ says only that some campgrounds do not accept breeds that insurers link with aggression. In our sample, Canton KOA was the most explicit, banning pit bulls, pit bull mixes, Rottweilers, Dobermans and aggressive dogs of any kind. Three other campgrounds mentioned breed in their pet sections. If you travel with a breed that often appears on insurance lists, including pit bull types, Rottweilers, Dobermans, German Shepherds, Akitas and Chows, call the campground before you book and ask whether there is a list.
How many pets can you bring?
KOA has no national limit. Two pets per cabin is common. Some campgrounds set no limit on RV sites, while Outer Banks West KOA allows up to four pets per RV reservation. If you travel with three or more dogs, check the campground page and phone ahead, because large groups of dogs at a single site are the situation most likely to cause a problem with neighbors.
Paperwork: rabies certificates and pet agreements
Most KOAs do not ask for paperwork, but some do. Cape Charles and Outer Banks West both require a copy of your pet's rabies certificate at check-in and a signed pet agreement. Naples asks for proof of current vaccinations. Keep a photo of the rabies certificate on your phone and a paper copy in the glovebox, since you may also need it if your dog bites someone or ends up at a vet away from home. For the drive itself, the ASPCA's travel safety tips cover crates, food, water and never leaving a pet in a parked car.
Kamp K9 dog parks
Many KOAs have a fenced off-leash area, which KOA calls Kamp K9. In our sample, Mackinaw City, Butte, Canton and others listed one. These are the only places at most campgrounds where your dog can be off the leash. The usual rules are that an adult must stay with the dog, aggressive dogs are not allowed, and you clean up after your pet. Canton KOA, for example, says dogs in its Kamp K9 must be attended by an adult at all times.
Where dogs cannot go at a KOA
Pet rules on campground pages often list places where pets are banned. Common ones are buildings such as the store, laundry and restrooms, the pool area and playgrounds. Mackinaw City, Lynchburg and Louisville South all say pets are not allowed in buildings, and several add the pool or playground. Butte KOA is unusual in offering pet-friendly washers and dryers for dog beds and blankets.
Leaving your dog at the site
The national rule is that a tethered dog must never be left alone, and many campgrounds go further. Springfield Route 66 says pets may not be left unattended at your campsite or in cabins, and Carbondale says not to leave your pet unattended at any time. In practice, if you want to go to a restaurant or attraction without your dog, the options are to crate the dog inside a climate-controlled RV, take it with you, or find a local daycare. Never leave a dog in a parked car or a closed RV without working air conditioning. Our guide on how hot is too hot for a dog in a car shows how fast the temperature climbs.
Service animals at KOA
KOA's service animal FAQ says service dogs are welcome at all KOA campgrounds with no charge, though the leash and behavior rules still apply. Under the ADA service animal rules, a campground cannot charge a pet fee for a trained service dog or turn one away because of its breed. Emotional support animals are not service animals under the ADA and can be treated as pets, including breed rules and fees.
Journey, Holiday and Resort KOAs
KOA sorts its campgrounds into three types. Journey campgrounds sit near highways and are built for overnight stops. Holiday campgrounds are destinations for a few nights, and Resort campgrounds have the most facilities, often with pools, activities and food on site. The pet rules tend to follow the same pattern. The two campgrounds in our sample that asked for a rabies certificate, a signed pet agreement and a USD 50 cabin fee per pet were both resort-style properties near the coast. Naples in Maine, a Holiday campground, sat in the middle with small nightly fees. Whatever the type, a Resort KOA is where you should read the pet small print most carefully.
What to pack for a KOA stay with a dog
A campground is busier than people expect, with children, bikes, other dogs and wildlife at dusk. Pack a fixed 6 foot leash rather than a retractable one, a tie-out short enough to keep your dog inside your own site, a long-lasting chew to keep it settled, a towel for muddy paws, and a light or reflective collar for night walks. Bring shade and plenty of water for hot sites, and a copy of the rabies certificate. If your dog is anxious around new sounds and people, our guide to dog car anxiety has tips that help with the drive and the first night too.
A worked example: a week-long RV trip with two dogs
Say you are taking a motorhome on a seven night loop with a 70 pound German Shepherd and a 15 pound terrier, staying at three different KOAs. Before booking each one, check the campground's pet section for breed rules, because German Shepherds appear on some insurance lists. On an RV site the dogs will often stay free, but budget USD 5 per pet per night in case one campground charges. Keep both dogs on 6 foot leashes, use the Kamp K9 for exercise, and do not leave them tied out while you shower. If you switch to a cabin for one night, expect a fee of USD 10 to USD 50 per pet and check that the cabin is pet-friendly.
Common mistakes at KOA campgrounds
- Assuming the national policy is the whole story. Each campground adds its own rules.
- Using a retractable or long leash. The limit is 6 feet.
- Booking a standard cabin with a dog. Only cabins marked as pet-friendly take pets.
- Leaving a dog tied out at the site while you go to the pool.
- Forgetting the rabies certificate at a campground that asks for it.
Tips for camping with your dog at KOA
- Read the pet section on the campground's information page before you pay the deposit.
- Ask for a site at the edge of the loop if your dog barks at passers-by.
- Pack a tie-out that keeps the dog in your site, a 6 foot leash, bags, water and shade.
- Our guide to traveling with a dog in an RV covers crates, temperature and driving days.
- For tent trips and longer drives, see our road trip with a dog guide.
- If you plan to visit parks nearby, check our guide to dog-friendly national parks first, because trail rules are much stricter there.
The bottom line on KOA
KOA is dog-friendly almost everywhere, but the rules that cost you money or keep your dog out are set campground by campground. The national basics are a 6 foot leash, no lone tethered dogs, no aggression and no constant barking. Check each KOA's page for pet fees, cabin rules, breed lists and paperwork, and call ahead if anything about your dog is unusual.
